Sulgrave Manor was built by Lawrence Washington, George Washington’s five times great grandfather, in the mid-1500s.
The original Tudor features can be visited on one of our house tours including the Great Hall that was the heart of the house where Lawrence Washington, his wife and eleven children lived. Other original elements of the Washington’s Tudor house are made up of the entrance porch, the Great Chamber and two smaller rooms on the first floor.
In 1700 the North Wing was added. This sits at right angles to the Tudor section and contains the Oak Parlour and Great Kitchen at ground level and bedrooms above.
The western section of the house had been destroyed when the house was purchased in 1914 and today this has been replaced by the Director’s quarters that were built in the 1920s, with the porch once again taking its central position at the front of the building.
When the house was to be opened to the public in the 1920s the garden was re-designed by Sir Reginald Blomfield. The garden remains largely unaltered since this time and today visitors can see formal hedges and topiary, an orchard, herb garden and beautiful borders for all seasons.